Thread: Importing into Canada - Vancouver Port to Alberta

User Info Menu

Default Importing into Canada - Vancouver Port to Alberta

Hello All. I'm new to all of this. But I have been reading through this thread to the best of my ability. That being
    said I can tell a lot has changed between 2018 - 2022, no doubt Covid related.

I have a line on a couple of cars from either, "carfromjapan.com" or "cardealpage.com", I am hoping these exporters are reputable....I notice they both use the same exporter database, for all the cars available for export from dealers...

- Get the BOL from "carfromjapan.com" or "cardealpage.com" once the car is paid for.

- Use the BOL to clear customs, with all the required paperwork

- Clear customs [Is the downtown office still the only one? Can I have the most current Address?] (I did try and read the needed forms in this thread to clear customs, but it seems like it has changed. Is it
    possible for someone to kindly link the forms in a list, or just list the forms needed for customs and I will hunt
    them down, I'll take either, if I'm not asking too much. I know many forms were listed in this thread, but I don't know what's currently valid. I know I am probably going to have to pay:

$250.00+gst Customs clearance / brokerage (If there is more than one vehicle on the same BL the remainder are $50.00 each.
    $125 Dock charge / unloading of vehicle (could be a bit more if it’s an SUV / truck / larger vehicle)
    $100 Excise tax (if vehicle has air conditioning)
    $43 CFIA soil exam+gst if vehicle gets flagged for CFIA soil exam
    Duty 2.5% on Japanese makes / 4.4% on trucks / 6.1% on EU imports
    GST 5% (Alberta)

- Temporary Insurance and registration for Inspection...I am from Alberta, but I am picking up the car More than likely at the Vancouver Port (Since the Office is downtown?). Can I get temporary Insurance and registration to go get the car inspected? Do I