Thread: Cheap daily driver

User Info Menu

Default Cheap daily driver

What is a good cheap japanese daily driver for a young enthusiast?

User Info Menu

Whatever you're able to find for a good price really. Are you talking about a RHD JDM? Or are you looking at anything from a Japanese manufacture? Welcome to the site by the way I'm also fairly new to using the forums myself. In general I imagine finding a Honda would be the best bet for your question. Cheap purchase price and very reliable! But I'll wait for a reply before I start exploring options aha.

User Info Menu

I just mean japanese manufacturers and i know Honda is cheap and reliable but do you have a suggestion other than Honda?

User Info Menu

Well it really depends on what sort of thing you're looking for.
    1) Are you looking for an older car like 1990 to 2010? Or something new? Given that you said young enthusiast I'd have to imagine you're looking for something older.
    2) Are you looking for something that looks good, or something functional? Like coupe vs say a sedan or wagon/hatch?
    3) Do you want something with good aftermarket support that has a plethora of options for modifications?
    4) Manual transmission or manual transmission? No shame in getting an auto but some cars have issues with auto trans giving out earlier then a manual trans. A good example is 97-98 Preludes the auto trans is notorious for failing. That problem was addressed for 99-01 but that fix only gave them a bit longer of a life expectancy before failure.